The Tale of the Cock and the Jasp

This here is the tale of the cock and the jasper; it is the tale of a surprisingly wise bird, one who knows, better than most, what value really is. It is the story of a humble rooster who, at the moment of the story, was in the search of corn to eat. Rather unexpectedly, through no skill or fault of his own, he stumbles upon the most precious of stones – the jasp! What he does next is of particular note. Nothing! You see, a cock has no use for such a thing. He cannot eat it. Nor can he sell it. Sure, he could carry it here and there in his talons or under his wing, but what is he to do when the fowler or the fox comes? If it is under his wing, than he cannot fly to safety. If it is in his claw he cannot run quickly to the bushes. If he drops it – then what a precious gift he will leave for the fowler!

What the cock wants is corn. He has not the time in his busy life for precious stone that men will kill each other for. He just does what our good lord created him to do. Now Esop and Robert Henryson, both being men, both who see value in the valueless, quite naturally disagree! But the wiser of God’s creatures know that this life is short, it is the next one where we appreciate such fanciful things! It seems to me this; let us say the cock was beholden to this little gem. He adored it! Tucked it safely under his wing, hiding it from the fowler as he flew and the fox as he fled to the bushes. Lets say he was so enamored with it, fully aware of what Esop and Henryson would call it’s real value, that he did whatever it took to protect if from harm! He hid from any potential thieves, even if meant spending less time in search of corn. After all, corn is less valuable!

Then, when winter comes, the hungry cock with the precious stone is getting desperate for food. He spies some chaff in a field! But quick, he sees the larks flying do get it. And now the fiendish fowler had bag full of larks, a thin, but nonetheless perfectly edible cock, and precious jasp, that he can sell for corn! A wise bird knows where in God’s creation he belongs. A wise bird has no business with precious stones! And wise men know that this life is short and to throw away something so precious for a stone is foolish!

 

One thought on “The Tale of the Cock and the Jasp

  1. Dear Sparrow,

    You speak of precious things with palpable certainty. I admire creatures who believe in what they say. It is a very honorable trait. I, for example, believe in what I say. I say that I am a faithful servant of our Lord Jesus Christ and therefore I live like such. Though it caused me great pain, I ceased all sexual interactions with my wife Margery at her behest. Yes, it took me three years to acquiesce but once I did, I became a man who like you means what I say. My admiration for your passion and belief in your own truth not withstanding, I must disagree with your statement that “And wise men know that this life is short and to throw away something so precious for a stone is foolish.” I take umbrage with this statement for a few reasons. First, I consider myself a wise man. Second, I’ve had to throw precious things away. My wife being the most precious of all. Why you ask? Why would a wise man throw something precious away? Well my good sparrow, precious things have a tendency to become less precious over time. My once precious wife fell into a life of sin and materialism. I could have no part in that so when she started on the path to redemption, I was more than happy to let her go. So while you may consider discarding precious things unwise, you should think more carefully and consider how swiftly things can change given time.

    -John Kempe

Leave a Reply

