Why Do Ye Scorn Launcelot?

Forgive me, my fellows at the table, for having such a delay in mine words. Had I known of the fall of a man such as Launcelot earlier, I would have made haste to this fine hall and defended the man to my own last breath!I hear grumblings of discontent when that man’s name be spoken of, and I cannot understand why. Are thee not men of honor and of tradition? Is that not why we gather here, to honor ourselves and others that live as we would? Or is this hall a place where we allow cravens such as Merlin to come and take the glory of a man such as Arthur as his own credit? Nay, I say, this hall is meant for men such as Launcelot.

What crime did Launcelot commit to deserve such scorn from his fellows? Were it not the word of the bard that told this tale to us that love were different in the day of Launcelot? Some of ye may say that Launcelot dishonored his king by taking the Queen as his own lover. I do not think this is something of dishonor. In my day, a king would shower those men most loyal to him in gifts that reminded those men of their service! Surely you all recall mine own story, and of the gifts I received for my deeds, and the gifts I gave to those men who swore themselves to my name. Could it be that Launcelot were given Guinevere in return for his service to his king?

Would that I may speak to Launcelot upon this matter, and another. Launcelot need not fled from his land and from his countrymen. Launcelot, being the truest of warriors, should have stayed in England! Aye, he should have stayed and fought those swine that dishonored his name and proven himself to his king as he had once before! Why do none of ye cry out at Mordred for his crime of incest? Mordred shared blood with the queen, and yet the good Launcelot did not. Mordred should be the one ye punish with thy words!

4 thoughts on “Why Do Ye Scorn Launcelot?

  1. As one of the men who takes issue with Sir Launcelot, I felt that I ought to reply and make my own opinions known. Sir Launcelot was once a close and highly respected companion of mine. I was proud to serve at the Round Table with him. Indeed, beside a knight as brave, true, and talented as Sir Launcelot, I even felt rather inadequate. I was among his defenders when his character was attacked by the other knights such as Sir Agravain and Sir Mordred. Indeed, I even tried to talk them out of their plans and remind them of how noble and wonderful I thought Sir Launcelot to be. Even to King Arthur himself I tried to defend Launcelot and the lady Guinevere! My own complaint, though that word feels terribly inadequate, with Sir Launcelot is that he killed my dear brothers, even Sir Gareth, who loved Sir Launcelot most of all. Such a crime is unforgivable to me. Although I once looked upon Launcelot with respect, reverence even, those feelings stir no more within me. For how can I respect a knight who cut down someone like Sir Gareth, who would not have desired to harm Launcelot for the world? Learning that he did such a terrible thing shook me to my core, and I could scarcely even believe such horrible news to be true. With that, any respect that I once harbored within my heart for Launcelot was turned to hatred. Verily, can you blame me? I know, Sir Beowulf, that in your time the death of one’s dear kinsmen is a most serious offense. Would you not be thirsty for revenge if you stood in my place? Now do you see why I have deemed him to be a false recrayed knight?

  2. O foolish Beowulf! Do not fret for Launcelot. Do not mourn his life. His end was predestined and his fall great when he allowed the sins of the flesh to control him. Man is supposed to take his own wife and join himself to her. Unless he is my husband, of course, for I love no man other than Christ and will join my body with no one for it is the temple for the Holy Spirit. Launcelot was wrong in his actions and I pray that you make penance for the words you speak in defending him. He was wrong until the very end of his king’s life and the rejection of his queen. But thanks be unto God for Launcelot’s quick turn around and change of heart. The only way to atone for his sins was to rid himself of past follies and be born again through Christ Jesus.

    I can sympathize with Launcelot for I had my share of immoral sin that I am too ashamed to mention here. But do not say that you would have defended him, dear Beowulf, for his transgressions ruined a kingdom. No man is to sleep with the wife of another no matter how great their deeds may be. God honors the marriage between a man and woman if such creatures are too weak to abstain from their fleshly lusts and He’d have it that no man make a mockery of it. No, dear Beowulf, Launcelot was wrong in sleeping with the queen and I would make the same claim in front of an entire army of I had to for I fear no man and their objections.

  3. Beowulf, your words have lifted my spirits and lead me to see my saga in a new light. It is beyond question that I was the greatest champion of Camelot, though a gift of the King’s wife would normally be too dear there may have been justification in our case. As is well know, fair Guinevere was without child. Arthur fathered a child, but that was with the sorceress le Faye. He may have been unable to father a child with a mortal woman. Without an heir Camelot was in jeopardy. If so, who else but myself should father this heir, not only am I Camelot’s greatest champion, but like Beowulf I am the son of a King.

    Is it possible that Arthur allowed what he could never have asked for? It would explain the ruse lasting as long as it did when the King is no fool and I am not known for my guile. Look who our affair was revealed by; Mordred the bastard son of the king, the person who would have the most to lose if Arthur claimed my son as his own and passed the crown to him.

    Sir Launcelot du Lac
    Flower of All Knighthood

  4. Take heed Beowulf! For the temptation of the flesh suppresses all reason! Your northern land is where the swallows don’t fly and preacher’s words seen as mere suggestions! I have no doubt the temptations of warm flesh is stronger on a cold night! But take heed, the warmth of the flesh soon turns to the hotness of Hell! Christian love is no reward for any earthly king and temporary pleasure is not worth everlasting pain! I warn you to repent!

    You say in your day that a king would shower his men with the gifts of earthly pleasures! He is like the fiendish fowler, who showers the larks with his gifts of chaff! It is only to get them in his trap! There is only one king whose gifts the righteous should take – and he died for our sins! Beware of the temptations of the fallen angel, for they are always temporary, and their punishment eternal. They rot the mind and corrupt the soul.

    Finally, look to good Lancelot’s later life, he did repent! He walked the righteous path of our good lord, and in his death his smell was sweet! You too can be redeemed! Upon your death your body can be corrupted and rot like the sinful Sir Mordred, or it can be sweet, like the redeemed Sir Lancelot! Walk the path of sin or walk the path of our lord, the choice is yours!

Leave a Reply

