Loyalty, to ones Lord or to ones Lady?

Friends, I come to you now with a heavy heart. I Launcelot du Luc have oft been named as the truest of Knights and have taken great pains to be worthy of being so named. What would one ask of a true knight?

Strength of arms? Mine exploits are well known. I have been victorious in battles of many knights against one. I told you before of my victory over Sir Phelot weilding a humble rownsepyk and armed in naught, but my breeches. At Castle Tantagil, I slew two giants who had help the people captive for seven years.

Chastity? Knowing now near the whole of my life, you may make jest at this, but was ever a knight more sorely tempted? When I was taken in my sleep, by enchantment by Morgane la Fey and her three sisters I refused them.

thee behoveth now to choose one of us four. I am the Queen Morgan le Fay, queen of the land of Gore, and here is the queen of Northgalis, and the queen of Eastland, and the queen of the Out Isles; now choose one of us which thou wilt have to thy paramour, for thou mayest not choose or else in this prison to die. This is an hard case, said Sir Launcelot, that either I must die or else choose one of you, yet had I liefer to die in this prison with worship, than to have one of you to my paramour maugre my head. And therefore ye be answered, I will none of you, for ye be false enchantresses”

Loyalty? . . . Some would call me traitor, for it is true that I lay with Guinevere who was queen to Arthur. It was  wicked trap I was caught in, more dangerous than any enemy human, fey, or monster. I was not torn between Loyalty and lustful treachery, but between two loyalties. Always I had been loyal to both King Arthur and to Queen Guinevere. When I offered mercy to defeated knights, I bade them to lay themselves at the judgement of King Arthur and then to offer service to Queen Guinevere. During the golden age of Camelot these two loyalties were as one. When it was demanded that I betray one to be true to the other, was I made to choose betwixt loyalty and loyalty or treachery and treachery? As a knight I have never called myself a judge, having always left that to my Lord and Lady. I will leave you with a single testimony that is was not I who began the dance of the three of us for Merlin gave warning to Arthur before he sought the hand of fair Guinevere and it was well know that Merlin’s warning are often prophecy.

“Merlin warned the king covertly that Guenever was not wholesome for him to take to wife, for he warned him that Launcelot should love her, and she him again”

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Loyalty, to ones Lord or to ones Lady?

  1. Sir Launcelot, you are quite the enigma; I truly find you to be a difficult figure to understand. Based on your deeds in the name of King Arthur, I do not doubt that you are loyal to him and your country. However, your actions in collusion with the fair Queen Guinevere would certainly cause some to call said loyalty into question. Now, I will admit, I do extract a good deal of amusement in seeing men tested as you have been, as exhibited by my own dear wife and your colleague Sir Gawain. However, Gawain certainly appears to foster far more restraint than you, Sir Launcelot. I know that you two do not always see eye to eye, but I truly do believe that you could learn from him, as you seem to have trouble fulfilling some of your promises and responsibilities. For example, in “The Tale of Sir Launcelot and Queen Guinevere”: “Sir Launcelot began to resort unto Queen Guinevere again, and forgot the promise and the perfection that he made in the quest” (1). Deep down you appear to be a man of worthy spirit, but some of your actions would suggest otherwise. I would suggest that you challenge yourself to better your fortitude of spirit, and then your acts of bravery will not be clouded by such irresponsible behavior.

  2. Sir Lancelot, fear not! The temptation of sin makes fools of men! It rots not just the soul, but the mind as well. Take heed of my advice, or the temptation of earthly pleasures is to the souls of men, as the fowler’s chaff was to the larks! You knew not what you were doing, as that is the nature of sin. As you strayed from the path of the righteous you did not stop to think! As you lost your way your mind rotted with your soul! You were as thoughtless as a hungry bird in the dead of winter! You were hungry for the sins of the flesh! What you need is repentance, you need the advice of someone prudent, and well versed in the words of our lord. It is with the advice of holy preacher and the restraint and self control of a monk that you will be redeemed in the eyes of our heavenly father! Worry not! Men are meant for sin; it is in their nature. It is only with the help of our lord can they overcome this!

    Repent with sincerity and pray to our lord for forgiveness – it is in his nature to grant it! For His mercy know no bounds and his kindness no end! Take heed of my warning though, you are still on the path of sin. Your soul is at stake! You need guidance! And our heavenly father, his son, and the holy spirt are here to give it to you!

Leave a Reply

