Arthur’s Rise

‘Tis a great tale, Arthur’s rise to the throne. My great powers of deception allowed this renowned and powerful king to come into existence. I do not hold any regret over our deception, the death of the Duke of Tintagel was an inevitability. For Lady Igraine to bear the fated King Arthur, he was a necessary and unfortunate casualty. It also did not help his cause that he had created an enemy of King Uther Pendragon. His wife, Lady Igraine appeared to hold no ill will against us. She also seemed rather relaxed that King Uther Pendragon had slept with her during our elaborate ruse. It is also quite odd that Lady Igraine was so carefree about young Arthur being delivered to me. Fate would have it be regardless, however.

Arthur’s rise to king was destined to be at the hands of his mythical sword. His noble blood had been kept secret in order to craft him into the celebrated king that he will forever be known as. His humble reaction to being deemed king displayed the necessity in his childhood outside of the nobility. As I had predicted, fate would have Arthur unite all of England and Scotland. His reign as king would forever be remembered and tales would be told of his noble kingdom.

3 thoughts on “Arthur’s Rise

  1. Merlin, I find myself somewhat conflicted as to what to say to you. You, to the best of my knowledge, orchestrated Arthur’s rise to the throne with good intentions for both the boy and his country. And if that is truly the case, then I truly do respect your actions. However, and this is from where my conflict arises, I am quite wary over your use of sorcery, especially against someone so unsuspecting. I will admit that I have somewhat of a unique perspective on the matter, but I cannot help but be influenced by my own dealings with the sorceress Morgan le Fay. You see, despite my intimidating appearance and formidable strength, I have found myself to be under her control. It was she who gave me the guise of the “Green Knight,” not I. As such, my persona is one that was chosen for me, and here I am witnessing something remarkably similar. Arthur, too young and naive to understand his own situation, has been handed his own destiny by you, Merlin. And I can only hope that you would have the restraint to give the young King more freedom than Morgan le Fay has offered me.

  2. I must confess that it was terribly interesting to hear of my lord Arthur’s origins. In particular, I enjoyed hearing of his exploits as a youth before I was familiar with him. I was terribly impressed with his dedication to her brother Sir Kay. Rather than try and claim the sword as his own, he wanted to give it to his brother. I was proud to know that King Arthur was of such a noble character even at a young age, and so willing to be generous and support his brother. Kay, of course, had a somewhat interesting response. I was surprised to learn that he tried to claim the kingship for his own. I must say, I am ashamed to admit that, since Kay is one of my comrades, I almost expected him to take the credit for Arthur’s achievement in removing the sword. It was a relief to be proved wrong in that regard, though I am troubled that the thought even crossed my mind. Learning of Arthur’s dedication to his family made me, if anything, even more proud to be of service to him and his queen.

  3. The Knight of Green says a good thing, I think. Merlin, you played at kingmaker with the man who became that glorious Arthur, did you not? Where my green friend applauds your schemes, I disavow them! How can any man expect me to believe that a warrior was glorious as Arthur became king through anything but his own merit? How could a man gather such a force of fighters, sworn to him ’till the end of their days, but by being a man such as Arthur?

    I say, sorcerer, that you had no part in the rise of such a glorious man. No, what I say to be the truth is that you, as all who rely on their magicks and not their own self as a man, admired Arthur so that you wished to take credit for the rise of such a king. I would that I were there to prove it to this poor man Gawain, a glorious man in his own right, that his king had no connection to foul sorcerers!

Leave a Reply

