The Moral of My Tale

Hearken, all ye listeners, to my tale, the story of Everyman and his harrowing journey. I hope, ye listeners, that thou recognizeth a great moral within my tale. I have mentioned thus before, in numerous of thy discussions, that to face Death and the judgment of Our Lord is a prospect most dire and terrifying. Thou knoweth now of how I quailed in the face of my judgment, and of the many I turned to for council and comfort. None would commit themselves to travel with me beyond the mortal coil, to face the critical eye of Our Lord as He judgeth our sins and our lives. Twas only the Good Deeds of my life, frail as they were, that would commit to my journey and stand beside me before the eye of God. Tis a lucky and painful truth that, in life, I was unconcerned with these Deeds, and strengthened them not through admirable pursuit. Only once I had received the benefit of a Confession didst my deeds stand strong enough to earn me a place in Our Lord’s great Kingdom. I could admit the great relief twas brought to me by my salvation, but such a fact, I hope, is obvious. Instead, I turn thy attention to the true moral of my tale. Tis one of shame, shame at recognizing my shortcomings only when faced with Death and divine judgment. I would then use my tale as a careful warning to thee, my listeners. Long have I preached that such trifles as Goods and Strength and Beauty are impermanent things, sources of shameful Pride that will comfort one in life and abandon them just the same when Death arrives. Twas luck allowed me salvation when I Confessed to wash myself of sin. The lesson is that a life spent Confessing as thou shouldst, and living with care for the strength of thy Good Deeds, is what guarantees salvation. Hindsight shouldst never be thy moral compass. Now I send to thee my blessing, and wish you all purity and light in thy lives and in the eye of Our Lord.

2 thoughts on “The Moral of My Tale

  1. Congratulations!

    In addition, I must paraphrase my new-found favorite author, one Julian of Norwich. It is not only the attention paid to your own good deeds that unlocks the gates to the Kingdom of Heaven. Rather, it is the way in which you deal with all deeds. The world is full of horrid things, and it is easy to grieve them endlessly with little attention paid to the marvels and wonders of God’s great earth. One may never reach a happy peace in God’s eyes if one is always oppressed by the thought of those awful happenings. Be watchful, and have faith that all will be well in the end, under the careful eye of God.

    Moreover, be thankful that confession was made available to you, and never forget that your salvation, in many cases, lies in your compassion to your fellow man.

    Furthermore, wear sunscreen at the Kingdom’s pool. The sun is strong up here, especially if it’s bounced off St. Patrick’s frighteningly pale skin.

    #1 Mom/Manifestation of God, signing off.

    • Thou hast left me a reply full of wisdom, great Mother. ‘Tis true that Good Deeds alone are no means by which to grant entry into the Kingdom of Heaven. Were it only so simple. Luck I had in the mercy of a heartfelt Confession, and thus a seat at the table of Our Lord. But more so, thy consideration of compassion is key. While I walked the mortal world, I was concerned with gain, more of Goods than of Good Deeds. I had not the compassion and consideration of my fellow men necessary to truly furnish my Good Deeds to any worth. If a moral must be learned, let it be that Good Deeds matter heavily, along with faith in Our Lord and Confession for ourselves, but that compassion and concern for our fellow men must be above all in compounding such Good Deeds. The world is but little if we live as islands.

      I know not of thy “sunscreen.” Should it be found amongst the merchants?

Leave a Reply

