John Kempe to My Wife Margery Kempe

When I first noticed your sickness, I was scared. I was not scared for myself as I had no reason to be. I loved the Lord and my land. I did well by marrying the daughter of man that once held position of mayor. I followed the commandments set forth by the Bible, for the most part. You on the other hand, you creature that I call wife, Margery Kempe, were blasphemous and recalcitrant in all ways that a woman could be. I stood aside and watched as you destroyed your holy self and betrayed the commandments of Jesus Christ the son. Alas, there were so many sins for which Jesus the son may have found fit to punish you for.

Perhaps it was your first and greatest sin you write about and yet tell very little of. While I am your husband and a faithful servant of God, I don’t not expect you to reveal such trifles to me for that is not my place to hear sin and absolve. Nay, that is a job of a Priest. I read you invited one only to remain silent about this mysterious sin of yours. Perhaps that could’ve upset our Lord Jesus the son. That you would so desecrate a servant of the Lord by inviting him to hear your sins only to make waist of his time and keep your transgressions to yourself.  Unfortunately, your sins did not stop there. I recall your time of slander. When you began slandering me, your very husband, with accusations mendacious in nature.  Or when you had been once forgiven by the Lord and continued to live a life of pomp and circumstance, presenting your earthly riches for all the world to know and to inspire jealousy of our neighbors and family and friends. Perhaps it was the way you addressed me, your earthly lord and husband, when I merely suggested that you release yourself from all earthly desires and restrain your sinful urges to display your wealth. In defiance and with much haughtiness, you chided me, saying I could’ve never hoped to marry such a woman of your station.  Perhaps it was your failed attempts at opening businesses, work not made for women of course, in order to support your lavish and excessive desires.

Aye, your list of betrayals to Jesus Christ the son are endless. It is true that I made feast out of your body though you asked me not to. Yet, that I believe is my only sin. Besides that, I have been a model of a Christian man. This is why I believe the Lord gave me the power to decide whether or not you would be chaste when you went to him. Because I was such a loyal follower, I was given agency to determine whether or not you would ever know another man carnally. Though you’ve been less than a perfect wife and an astonishingly displeasing Christian, I decided to give you mercy as our savior Jesus the son has given us so many times throughout our lives. I let you devote your body to God as you once devoted it to me and allowed you to head to Jerusalem. For that, I’m sure you are grateful.

2 thoughts on “John Kempe to My Wife Margery Kempe

  1. You call your wife a creature? But why do you talk bad of her, when she only desires to express herself? You do not understand her so you condemn her. The God that you speak of, He understands her and me, He knows the truth behind the lies in which you people tell. We will always live our lives fighting the rejection of others. But it is good that we do not live for men, we do not need them! They cannot understand what it means to be mocked, and abused, everything is easy for them. But one day I will show them what it feels like to be in this kind of pain, and they will finally understand… one day.

  2. Alas Mr. Kempe, how I sympathize with you. You are one of many people to have been wedded to someone because of their status rather than for love–how it should be. However, unlike most of these people, you were wedded to a partner who was genuinely crazy, not to mention capricious, un-loyal, annoying, hysterical, et cetera. Despite all this, you maintained a good heart. And I could not agree with you more–you were overall the good person, as well as the good Christian. Thus, no matter what your delusional wife said, you are the one who deserves to be rewarded post mortem.
    I was one of the few who was able to marry someone I had chemistry with–my lovely wife Flavia Domitilla. She was not of illustrious pedigree; she was not even a full Roman citizen; yet her character was of illustrious quality. And although I was at times what might be considered “unfaithful”, my love for her never faulted. These acts of infidelity were bodily purges, nothing more. They allowed me to love my wife all the more. It was a shame when she passed, especially as she was never even able to see me become emperor. To this day I still mourn her loss, but at least through her passing my son’s and I became all the closer.

Leave a Reply

