Strange Visions of a Strange Woman

Visions are something that I find great importance in. Julian of Norwich, your vivid and specific insights are nothing short of amazing. Seeing Jesus as a mother, as a son, and most importantly as an equal with God is remarkable.

What was most surprising in your visions, though, is that you see Jesus as a direct descendant of Adam. As if they are essentially equals and that Adam’s original sin as a necessity to the existence of Jesus. You say “In the servant is comprehended the second person in the Trinity; and the servant is comprehended Adam, that is to say, all men.” Without Adam’s original sin there would be no Jesus. Original sin is often seen as a burden on man but you laud it as a precursor for the existence of Jesus. This insight is very unexpected. You also call Jesus the servant in this passage. Jesus was a servant in his quest to save man from the original sin. Jesus was successful in his task and in this he becomes more than a servant, he becomes an equal with god. You state, “Now standeth not the Son before the Father on the left side as a labourer, but He sitteth on his Father’s right hand in endless rest and peace. But it is not meant that the Son sitteth on the right hand, side by side, as one man sitteth by another in his life” Jesus’ accomplishments as a labourer for the sanctity of man allows him to become an equal with God. His unimaginable dedication to the good of man is not matched by any aside from God and the Holy Ghost.

Your dedicated insight on the Holy Trinity and the Godheads is unmatched by any, Julian of Norwich.

One thought on “Strange Visions of a Strange Woman

  1. Before I have said, from Cain I descend, but struck out from humans, my child and I roamed. So too have I lamented the loss of my son and if this Jesus take all these roles do I, rejected from those humans, still receive understanding? I cannot change the nature of my creation, but child too I bear so on that time the pain I bore did this creator feel it so? For to be a mother and to lose, such a pain must he feel if over all he governs. Though of my unwilling, monstrous sin so I am, transcend it all for though my deeds regret I have none, the loss of my son is but one and cast off or not, this Mother Jesus she speaks of could feel the same.

Leave a Reply

