Chauntecleer and Pertelote

I hope my tale not only entertained you lads but taught you some valuable truths to take you wherever you may go. Beware, never put too much truste on flaterye. The fox’s greatest weapon will always be his cunning tongue, the way he masterfully manipulates people’s emotions. The Great Cock Chauntecleer was fooled once by such flarerye, but not twice. He learned his lesson.

I would like to take a moment to clarify that what I said about women I said in jest. While it is true that sometimes women are the folly of men, this is in no way generalized to the whole of their sex. In this tale, however, if Chauntecleer had listened to his God-sent dream, he would have never gone out that day and never would have encountered the fox. Pertelote was wrong to put such little value in dreams. If the dream is forceful enough to cause a strong reaction in the dreamer, then that in itself is a sign. Pertelote was clearly wrong, and Chauntecleer was not a coward.

I also hope you lads caught the significance between the contrast of Pertelote’s analysis of what women want from men and the loathely lady’s analysis of the same. Whereas the loathely lady says all women want sovereign over their men, Pertelote goes another route and says women want their housbondes to be hardy, wise, and free. And above all, not a nygard or a coward.

Thank you all. Truste God. Listen to your dreams. And beware of flaterye.

3 thoughts on “Chauntecleer and Pertelote

  1. Your tale was an interesting one, I will say. I myself have learned that flaterye, as you call it, is not oft worth listening to when it comes from a stranger. Had your dear hero Chauntecleer known this, I do not believe he would have fallen for such a trick.

    But we must credit the fox for his cunning exploitation of the cock’s pride, for only that fox, having slain Chauntecleer’s own father, could have known what kind of man Chauntecleer would be. I found in my days as a fighter that it would be best to exploit the pride of thy foe in order to win the battle, and did not the fox do just that?

    Ah, but so did Chauntecleer, for he also seized the chance, much like mine own self in my battle with the mother of that beast Grendel. He baited the fox’s own pride, having learned from his folly that endangered his life and was freed. But unlike that fox, Chauntecleer had the support of the people around him, especially his chief wife, Pertelote. And what is a man without support?

    You say Pertelote is wrong, but I would say she was right. Had Chauntecleer merely been afraid because of his dream, he would not have had the wit to turn the fox’s own trick back upon him! Nay, my good man, I must disagree with you, and say that Perelote were in the right and that she was truly God’s agent in the life of Chauntecleer, not his own dream.

  2. A very prudent message indeed—to be wary of those who flatter too much. As former emperor of the grand Roman Empire, a title sought by many, it was necessary for me to be heedful of the personal ambitions and motives of others, especially those individuals who, as with the fox, may try to earn my trust in the hopes that I would turn a blind eye to them. One conspiracy which I faced was against Aulus Caecina Alienus, a man who had no conception of fidelity, constantly conspiring to gain power. It was not until 79A.D. that he finally went far enough that I could justify to the public having him executed. Fortunately though, I believe those with aspirations for the throne sensed my incisiveness for such matters as rising to power through deception—through flattery, and so I instead faced insubordination more in the form of blunt uprisings and vying for power such as the Batavian Rebellion, headed by Julius Sabinus who had the audacity to declare himself emperor. He then tried to march on Rome, and due to a bit of hubris, I underestimated this matter, consequently causing him to actually win a few battles against our armies, that is, before I decided to stop messing around and sent a massive army headed by Quintus Peritilius Cerialis.

  3. I have also given head to kind words from those that flattered my reputation for treachery. In my travels I encountered a lady who begged my aid in recovering her falcon which had taken flight and not returned. She flattered my Vanity “O Launcelot, Launcelot, as thou art flower of all knights” and the tale she told bound me by knighthood to help her. “if my lord my husband wit it he is so hasty that he will slay me”.

    I am a an ill climber, therefore I disarmed to climb the tree.When I returned the falcon the lady’s husband Sir Phelot revealed himself and taunted me confessing my adventure to have been a ruse for that he could slay me unarmed. I begged him for honor’s sake to allow me to arm. He jested that I would bare the shame of dying weaponless and charged. Fortunately, one cannot expect one so skilled in deception to be the equal in arms of a knight of the round. As I was dressed only in shirt and breeches I was able to leap up and tear a large branch from the tree and with that I disarmed and felled the knaive before slaying him wit his own blade.

Leave a Reply

