What More Can I Say?

Reflecting back on my prologue and tale, I’m quite proud to see what words I strung together with help from the experience I had behind me at that time. My lengthy prologue was by far the most helpful and wisest of all the prologues, as I alone have true life experience and thoughts of my own. I couldn’t bear to listen to the other pilgrims’ tales, none of them being as well read or as well travelled as I– and their shortcomings being quite obvious in their presentations of stories. I truly don’t understand why their prologues or tales were even necessary after my own performance.

I do wonder if the men I traveled with went forward in their lives, keeping the moral I taught to them close to their hearts. I hope their wives were given control and managed to find themselves a wealth and power they didn’t have before. Perhaps in having such they will also experience more and better of the world, perhaps even more and better husbands. They need not listen to their husband’s interpretations of scripture, or any other man’s for that matter. They can listen to mine, if it so suits them. Men of the Old Testament married whomever they pleased and we are a people meant to procreate. Surely that is as good a reading of the Lord’s word as a Friar, monk, priest, or bishop could come up with.

Control is what keeps a woman happy, what keeps a wife and marriage happy. It is such fruitful advice that it can be applied to even multiple marriages, as I have found. I know that many lack the real world experience that I have, and even the well read culture I have developed for myself, I just hope that nonetheless those with less than I will still be capable of understanding my moral and teachings.

2 thoughts on “What More Can I Say?

  1. I must say Lady, you are truly unique amongst women. Never before have I encountered a woman so independent and commanding in nature. I admire your ability to seek out your own happiness and freedom, and found your tale to be quite exciting. Queen Guinevere and her ladies deciding the knight’s fate was an interesting turn of events that struck me as quite daring. As a woman whose life’s journey has been largely decided by men, I found the role reversal refreshing to say the least. As to what women most desire, I would challenge his answer and say that women do not so much desire sovereignty over their husbands, but what all people, man or woman want, sovereignty over their own lives. I grieve alone in my grove, and wish not to bid my love come find me but that I might control my own fate and seek him out myself. You dear lady hold considerably more choice in this world than most women ever get and that is what I believe most women truly desire.

  2. Husband I have not known, but the unequal tale of men who were victors I do. My deeds besmirched and painted wrongly by time, those men who killed me and my son. It is their tale left, but mine changed and wrong. Do you know the burden of a child Wife? Marriage you speak, but children none. I both envy and pity for this pain you cannot know, but so same love you know neither.

    If I had just been swifter, I would not know such loss. It would be my tale and my story you all know. Cherish your voice and spread your tale. Marriage I may know little of, but restraint and voicelessness I know. Loss and silence I know.

    How many tales lost or altered by men who claim to know. Monster they called me, but had their children been lost would they understand? Their kind, I took one, and indignation they showed me. Your prologue and tale I envy, for such strength and agency they ripped from me. May they know a woman’s strength. Wife or no, mother or no, the tales they tell are their own.

Leave a Reply

