A Knight’s Perspective

I, Lanval, have much to say about the actions taken by those described in a tale called Blanche Crowe, Daughter of Liyr. First of all, where are the noble, strong, and defending knights in this tale? Where I am from – the Court of Arthur – Knights are a most noble honor, and every Kingdom should have a powerful group of Knights at its behest to protect each other and those fighting for the Kingdom. To examine this conflict between Irish King Matholwch and the Island of the Mighty, Crown of London, Benedict Crowe, I will first have to say that both of these noble and honorable men of high status require a lesson in chivalry and the way women of high ranking are to be treated. It is my opinion that Benedict Crowe was in the wrong to give his daughter away so quickly to a King without having spent more than a single night with him, to ensure that his daughter was being given to a noble man. Secondly, as word spread regarding the humiliating story of Matholwch’s horses being harmed and dismembered, he took out his frustrations and put fault on his own wife, Blanche Crowe.

The furthest I have ever gone to disrespect a woman of high ranking was Guinevere, Queen of Arthur, and that is because she became angered at my denial of her romantic advances toward me. I felt that my loyalty remained with King Arthur. I am unfamiliar with the storytellings of giants and birds who are capable of learning from humans, perhaps this tale is told of times to take place in the future or long ago.

Matholwch or Crowe, how I desperately wish I could have been a noble knight in your honor – if I had no longer been a knight to King Arthur – and advise you regarding their conflict. I would have advised Matholwch to not be so insulted by the acts of Crowe’s family members of which he has little control over. That being said, Benedict Crowe should be more aware of what goes on within his confines.

Perhaps if they spent some time in the Court of Arthur, we could teach them a thing or two about chivalry, loyalty, nobility, and protection. In doing so may have resulted in a better outcome for all involved, seeing as Ireland’s peoples have been wiped out at the conclusion of the tale, all but for five pregnant women. Alas, I have stated my suggestions for improvement regarding this tale, as a noble knight would do. I only wish to pass along my acts of chivalry so that men outside of the Court of Arthur can learn the ways of being a great Knight.

2 thoughts on “A Knight’s Perspective

  1. As a knight living and fighting on this fine island of Britain, I find it terribly interesting to learn something of the history of this place. In particular, I take a great interest in tales relating to the ancestors and origins of King Arthur, whom I serve and honor to the very best of my abilities. In particular, the story of how he was conceived is particularly noteworthy. This is especially because I myself have had a run in with someone disguised by magic, just as Merlin so cunningly disguised Uther Pendragon, promising “I shall make you look just like him” (Geoffrey of Monmouth 177). As for my own encounter with such powerful and mysterious magic, I learned that a host that I stayed with was actually the powerful knight who I was journeying to face, but disguised. Moreover, the magical disguise was concocted by none other than Morgan le Faye, Merlin’s mistress! The discovery produced much embarrassment as it became promptly known that I had failed to uphold part of a bargain made by my host, but it was combined with much relief as it meant my doom was no longer close at hand! It makes me wonder what Arthur’s mother would have thought of the deception. As with my own, it appears that everything ultimately ended well as she was apparently happy in her marriage to Uther, as they were “bound by mutual affection” (178), but I wonder what her true thoughts on the matter were, especially as it resulted in the death of her first husband. Perhaps things were not quite so pleasant as they may have seemed, or perhaps she was blissfully unaware of this trickery for the rest of her days. Of course, it wounds me to think that the father of the man I admire most may have caused someone such misery, but I cannot deny that, knowing this tale, the thought hasn’t crossed my mind. Myself, I do not believe that I would trick someone with magic given the chance, but I do not deny that it is an interesting question to consider.

  2. Lanval, I respect that you are a man who values honor and chivalry. I fully understand your deep concern for the knights, and I would like you to know that the best way for a man to prove his worth is for it to be thoroughly tested. I myself even saw it fit to test the courage and loyalty of Arthur’s own court, which I can tell you hold in very high regard. However, all men are fit to be tested, and even among this noble group only one knight rose to the challenge! In fact, King Arthur himself was almost forced to take up my challenge himself. Shameful! Indeed, perhaps my expectations were too high, but I thought it reasonable to expect more of these noble knights to defend the honor of the Court. Alas, sometimes you cannot simply rely on reputations and matters must be taken into your own hands. Perhaps Arthur himself should have been more rigorous in this regard, as his questionable judgment is displayed in A History of the Kings of Britain. Arthur left Britain in the hands of Mordred and Guinevere, who went on to seize the throne and confront Arthur with a bitter war. Had he been more careful in assuring Mordred’s loyalty, hundreds of men who died in battle could yet still live! Even Arthur himself has kept in his company cowards and traitors.
    In the end my own story, Sir Gawain did prove to be a man worthy of my challenge. And you, Lanval, seem to have overcome a temptation similar to one of my own making! I can imagine that resisting Lady Guinevere would be almost as difficult as resisting the fair Lady Bertilak herself! Perhaps your loyalty is equal to that of Gawain. If you would like a chance to prove that, I am always ready for a game. Actions are more impactful than words. If you are truly the paragon of a knight that you claim you are, then I implore you seek out the Green Chapel. I will be waiting there.

Leave a Reply

