Exeter Riddler

I write words on paper. I work hard to make you think. I can be religious. I can be sexual. The more I write the more confusing I can be. My riddles can be long. They can be short and to the point. I love to make you think. I love to make you wonder. When I speak of the bible I know of its use to the “sons of men”. I know it will make them safer, but I ask it to make sure that you know of its worth. What else do I speak of? Things that “rise up strong and savage.” Things that are of nature’s doing? If you are unsure of what this is I will tell you. Even if normally you should come to this conclusion on your own. The riddle one is about a storm. Now as I speak of God and nature, I also discuss more intimate things. Things that swell, rise and stand. Things that “[hang] between a mans thigh” are you embarrassed by these things? The world we live in is grand and full of wonder. I shall always make you think, make you wonder. Who am I? I am the Exeter Riddler and I am here to entertain.

3 thoughts on “Exeter Riddler

  1. Men always seem to justify their haughty antics and quick tongue. They pride themselves on simplistic desires but never offer the same to their counterparts. If I had been given the chance to read and write as well as you, dear Exeter Riddler, my riddles would be far more eloquent and harder to solve. I will commend your mediocre attempts at good fun and praise Riddle 1. I find solace in the description of the sea, bringing “terror to the race of men when I rampage on my savage way. Who will stop me?” I too bring terror and fright to men whenever I come near. Try as they might, my knowledge and power cannot be contained.

  2. Tell me, oh Exeter Riddler, do you know the truths to which you speak? You delight in your riddles and your mysteries, you take joy in proclaiming the protective nature of the Bible and the words of God. If we hold His words on high, do you not tell us that we “will find more friends, nearer and dearer,” that will “in a loving embrace clasp us close?” No friend have I, and no one to accompany me on my pilgrimage. You tell in your riddles of the soul, “a noble guest,” of who “grim hunger cannot harm him, nor hot thirst, nor illness or age.” What harms more than being alone? God has taught me that, at the door of death, only my good deeds will stand for me.

  3. Riddler, you speak so knowledgeably about the Bible, but do you yourself know of the truths of the Bible? Or has that riddled you? It has gone beyond the understanding of many men before you, so why do you think you know of the worth of such a book? What experience have you to think in this way? I am sure I am far more experienced than you, in more ways than one. You go so far as to speak of a key that “hangs between a man’s thigh” and how stiff, strong, and set it is. But what do you know of these things? I assure you I know more, and no riddle that you come up with will make me feel as though this is wrong of me.

    Speak and riddle of only what you have experienced, as I do. A man who speaks of things he has no experience in is not a good man.

Leave a Reply

