Love & Literature

Hello pilgrims! I can’t tell you how flattered I am that you have all decided to take a look at my more serious writings. The Parliament of Fowls is a particularly ambitious piece for me, as I wrote it in the royal stanza and chose to center the plot upon the wonderful subjects of love and poetry. I’m glad that you all didn’t judge me by Sir Thopas’ Tale or The Tale of Melibee, which was mocked so horrendously by our Host, and instead decided to give me the benefit of the doubt and look into my more well thought-out pieces before you rushed to judgement.

The Parliament of Fowls is meant to illustrate the power of literature  and love to inspire us. I must admit, the poet in this story is a bit like me; shy, hesitant to speak out and painfully romantic, in spite of his modesty and embarassment around women. Yet the wonderful opportunities literature gives us allows us to experience anything we want. I think I have had some of my most wonderful adventures sitting alone at my desk in my room. Tell me, pilgrims, did you not feel like you were walking through the wonderous, verdant garden alongside our dreaming narrator, amongst the  lush, beautiful plants, gorgeous goddesses and carefree and beautiful animals? THAT is the power of literature to transform our reality and give us an escape from our everyday, humdrum lives. The poet in the story is inspired in his dreams by the literature he reads, showing that some of our best experiences can be brought about by our own imagination. The poet in this story is so inspired by his dream that he vows to read as much literature as possible, because he knows how inspiring one little story can be! Chew on that, Host!

I know some of you are angry at me for leaving the end of the story a bit open-ended. Now, what good story-teller does THAT, you ask? Well, I like to leave things a bit open to interpretation for the reader. That’s why literature is so much better than visual art; it leaves so much more to the imagination. In my mind, the pretty little formel decides to fly free, without being tied down to any one tercel to keep her in line. However, some might think this is a bit unpoetic and might want to imagine that after her year of freedom she comes to the decision to marry the higher bred tercel. Believe whatever you want – sometimes it’s not just about what happens in the story, but the experience it provides.

But don’t be mistaken – I am still a diehard romantic at heart. At times it was lonely, as a shy, timid writer afraid to approach women yet fully aware of their divine charms, but as they say, “every pot has a lid.” After years of lonely longing, I found a wonderful wife and we now have a wonderful son, Lowes. The wait is worth it, my friends! Never lose your faith in love.

5 thoughts on “Love & Literature

  1. YES! Our dear writer Chaucer has spoken divine truth in his words. In his modest tale of love in the Parliment of Fowls I do believe he captures in some small way how love can be told and imagined through his wonderful imagery and fleshy characters. However understanding love and KNOWING loves fiery touch are things I believe can only be experienced and not read in ink.

    He does seem to give us a rich and meaty picture of it , but all the imagination in the world cannot cook and sauté a falcon that isn’t there. Pardon me but that Magnificat beast sounded to good to be true, oh what I dish I could prepare with his meat.
    Besides a heart broken hawk has very little to live for. His lady love made her decision and stuck with it. Love is a game and in literature we see just how fickle it can be. Now pardon me my ulcer seems to be leaking and I can’t let that go to waste.

    • Divine truth? Nay, just a bit of self promotion. While I agree that true love must be experienced in order to be understood, for us shy guys, literature is the next best thing. It allows us to imagine ourselves as knights in shining armour, if only until the time in which we can muster enough courage to find our own, real life
      damsel. In the mean time, buy my books!! There are lots of stories with love in them, and since I’ve added the lusty Wife of Bath’s tale and Miller’s tale to my collection, lots of stories about dirty stuff too!! Something for everyone, you see. But be warned, lads, women are HIGHLY overrated and sometimes I think I would have been better off sticking with my books and never having gotten married. As the Wife of Bath was so good to warn us about, women can be very conniving and jealous and materialistic and manipulative and, worst of all, they nag you to death at times … Oh benedicite, I must go … Someone is screaming my name …. Coming, dearest wife!! I hope your ulcer gets better, Cook ( I assume that you are the Cook, with the knee ulcer and all?). I’m not sure what you plan to do with the nasty leakage coming from your ulcer but it must be more pleasant than what I am about to deal with coming from my wife.

  2. Pidgeons and peacocks and poulty, OH MY! I must say, Dear, Beloved Chaucer what on Earth were you thinking when you decided to write down that dream?? If you had told me that story at a party I would have fallen asleep in my wine! It is bad enough I fell asleep on the privy reading it. When you started out with a dream, it gave me hope that there would be debauchery or other form of carnal delights to be read about and therefore aid in my study of the word of the deed. There are those of us who would much rather read about things naked and in naked speech than try to decipher meanings through long-wided debates of poultrynesse. My only hope is that when I start the House of Fame you have used a play on words and that Fame really means “ill-repute”…it is certainly time for you to don that dirty bard cap and take us forward to more flagrante and delicto stories.

  3. Chaucer, I appreciate your use of talking animals within your writing. Doing so makes the work much more relatable, and most importantly more marketable. Have you thought about selling the rights to Parliment of the Fowls for a 3D movie experience. Contact me through my chinked-in account, if so.

    -Merchant

Leave a Reply

