My Tale

The Friar is a very busy man Pilgrims and you will have to be paitent with me, begging is quite time consuming and I am a very important man. Monk, you seem a bit tense, if you’ve anything to confess my door is open.

Anyway, Summoner I hope I didn’t hurt your pride too much, as you are a bit of a fornicator and there happened to be an immoral Summoner proving my sermon. As a Friar it is my duty to teach of good morals and good character, and greedy Summoners who serve falsehoods will in fact be condemned to hell in good time. There is no wrath like an angry woman and the old woman had such passion that the naughty Summoner was taken away. This Summoner was an adulterer, a robber, and he dabbled in witchcraft; in other words he was a sinner in the worst way. 

Perhaps you will agree with me, Monk, as a holy man you must see that this Summoner had it coming to him. MY tale was both entertaining as well as moral. The Summoner does not fair so well in his rebuttal to me for as his falsity that a Friar should be carried off to hell is absurd. I may be a beggar but that is my duty, I certainly do not trick or steal my money I beg the right way in my designated area. Summoner’s would do well to take note of how moral and holy I am.

It seems to me that many of these tales that our fellow pilgrims have told have seem to have fallen off the moral path. It would do everyone good to obey the rules of the game and have some moral to each tale rather than to promote farting and burning arses. We should all remember why we are here and that is to complete this pilgrimage to Canterbury.

4 thoughts on “My Tale

  1. Hello there Friar, it is good to see that you have resurfaced. You do, however, sound a tad bitter. Maybe I do have something to confess, but I am not sure that you would want to hear it. It is good to know that you haven’t fallen in with the Miller as I suspected. Yes, I do agree with you that the Summoner had it coming to him, and I find these tales to be filled with a lot of value and morals and look forward to hearing many more.

  2. Oh Huberd, dear pitiful friar, maybe your life wouldn’t be so hectic if you weren’t always squatting on land that’s not yours, it takes money to maintain those porperties…but aside from being a rambling man I must say you have made some impressive points especially since both our tales don’t settle on the lowbrow and bodily humour. It seems that meaningful, moral, and poignant storytelling is a dying artform, with no temperate Christian tales everything just seems to go to hell -doesn’t it? I don’t think I’m the only one who senses the simmering animosity between you and the Summoner so the recent eruption was no surprise…an ungodly man who speaks falsely and acts trecherously but perhaps not worst of all sinners.

  3. The Summoner is a grotesque man who has little moral and respect. However, Pilgrims, do not let Chaucer’s view of us religious men taint your views of us. We are good men and are not entirely about money (money just helps us perform our duties). As you will see from the Shipman’s tale I am getting a sense that you Pilgrims have such a grim outlook on marriage and the ability of women to commit to their men. This is quite unfair and I believe if we all confessed our sins just a bit more frequently then perhaps we may avoid all of these terrible marriage predicaments. Perhaps I will take on marriage counseling on top of my other duties as a beggar (or squatter as the Franklin so hurtfully accused me of) and help with this weak outlook on marriage and romance, or anti-romance rather.

  4. It is not my intent to interject or claim my own superiority, but as you have roused my attention from my law books (I long ago mastered the art of learning while walking–it saves time and spares me from overhearing the petty bickerings of the less cultivated commoners) I will break from my endless study of the law to state my opinion on all of these matters collectively which you have discussed: the source of all crime, folly and hardship is money–or lack thereof, should I say. Poverty has the ability to tear apart any marriage, no matter of what its foundation is composed. Discuss the merits of each party within an infinite number of marriages until the last breath is exhausted from your lungs and you still will not find another common link to misery; it is poverty or the fear of such which blackens hearts and spurs men and women weak or strong to commit all manner of evils.

    Now I will leave you to continue your petty debate as to whose tale possesses more moral value; I have spoken my thoughts and will await my turn, upon which I will tell you a tale once told to me by a merchant. He was a charming young man who used to work outside the Parvys where I and the other lawyers would gather, and he always had the finest goods. When I set off to work elsewhere he was still selling the finest products in the area on the porch of St. Paul’s Cathedral. Three years later he killed his own wife and then committed suicide. He’d lost an important source for goods and gone broke; the poor man simply went mad…gouged his own eyes out and ate them before bleeding to death.

    But I digress.

Leave a Reply

