Tribulations of Marriage

Welcome my good pilgrims! Last time we met I graced you with a tale I could tell due to my abundant experience with tribulations in matrimony. With God’s grace, I have marched down the sacred aisle three more times and I have wed my eighth husband. By now I hope you understand my position on the traditions of marriage and I do not shy from of reputation of serial monogamy. It is not more acceptable to be web by only one and stay virtuous and committed to your spouse? Take that drunken Miller’s tale as an example. The beautiful Allison stayed with her poor old husband, but secretly partook in relations with another fellow. The end result left one with a burnt arse and the wretched taste of a bottom eye on another’s pallet. Dear young Allison would have remained of a more pure value if she divorced the poor carpenter and wed the scholar as her second husband.

8 thoughts on “Tribulations of Marriage

  1. My dear Wife of Bath, I wholeheartedly agree with you that Alison should have taken the scholar as her second husband, but then again, John would have been dead in a few more years anyway. I can also understand why she shouldn’t want to waste those years waiting for him to die either. Well, this way she has the best of both worlds, although I don’t know how much of a lover John is, especially compared to the frolicking scholar.

  2. My lady, i’m not suprised to hear you have remarried three more times. Hopefully these three were what you refer to as “good husbands?” I thoroughly enjoyed your tale today, especially the moral at that. I do find it true that woman want dominance over men, and that is exactly what the lady in your tale got in the end when given the choice to choose their destiny.

  3. (This is supposed to be a post but I cannot figure out how to make a post)

    I think we all can agree the Wife of Bath has an interesting philosophy on marriage and power within a relationship. Maybe, it wouldn’t be a bad idea for men to listen to their wives and relinquish control. I don’t know if I agree with marrying for money but I marrying into poverty leaves even a worse taste in my mouth. Heavens! Five husbands, that sounds like a lot of fun. I’m sure she has never been lonely once in her life.

    The story about the knight and the old women definitely brings up an important question which almost seemed unanswerable. But alas! Of course women want dominance over men, it seems logical. It was so noble of the knight to marry the weathered old woman but obviously a knight will always keep his word. The tale makes me wonder if there is one thing that men want? Is it to be submissive to their wives, which the Wife of Bath’s tale would imply or it is something else?

    p.

  4. (This is also supposed to be a post, but cannot figure out how to make one)

    I found the Wife of Bath’s tale to be very interesting. Of course It was refreshing to hear one with a happy ending after hearing so many tales that end with so many deaths. But my question is, how do we see this man as a noble knight? Sure he married the old lady because he gave her his word, and he even gave her dominance over himself. But, he got himself into this predicament by taking advantage of a young girl walking down the road. That doesn’t sound very noble to me.

    I enjoyed the pardoner’s tale today. It showed us how greedy people can come to be when money is involved. Those foolish three young men let their greed get the best of them; so much that they were willing to kill each other right after they declared a “brotherhood.” I liked the irony in the fact that the man who directed them to Death was a poor man whom they were making fun of. They should know that the best way to become rich is to work for their wealth.

  5. (If anyone still cares, in order to post: hover your mouse cursor over the top toolbar that’s supposed to say “Quitting Your Classmates”, then “new”, then click on “post”.)

    Ah, my dear Prioress! You have such a naive look on things! Five husbands is fun you say? Well, I can think of many a reason why that would never be a good thing. Such fickle commitment is a travesty on our God given rights to marriage! Of course, I do see the merit in marrying all those wonderfully rich men. God would easily overlook such sinful practices if some compensation were to be provided to the Lord’s servants. As for the Wife of Bath’s tale? Wonderfully whimsical I must say. The knight cedes dominion to his wife, and she becomes prettier? How great would it be if that were possible! Why, if i had a piece of gold for every husband that comes to me begging for a prettier wife, I would be rolling in a mountain of it!

  6. Oh, hear, hear WOB. I cannot say enough how much I agree with you. Satisfaction is the aim here and by all means go about getting it any way you can. The more satisfied you are , the happier you will be. Is love really all it’s cracked up to be? I think not.

  7. My dear Wife of Bath, I think that you may have found more matrimonial bliss if you had stayed with your husband that granted you sovereignty over him since in your tale you imply that what women want is control and once given control other sins will be forgiven. While you question the stories of the bible and call into question one marriage forever you may find that while it may not be agreeable to have one marriage but perhaps find one good marriage and spend a bit more time dating before taking the plunge, as it were. Find a man who is like Arveragus in the Franklin’s good tale who will be your equal through life and marriage.

  8. Oh Beautiful lady, Wife Of Bath, you are so wise! It is quite true that choosing the scholar as a second husband would have been a better choice than committing sin and sleeping with a man who was not her husband. On the other hand, if everyone in the world were to choose the right thing to do instead of sin – well, I’d be out of a profession! Let’s keep your wise suggestions on the down low, I enjoy my earnings and would like them to continue!

Leave a Reply

