Truth and Honor

Greetings from the Franklin, although I may not be particularly versed in diction and rhyme being the burel man I am, I pray that my tale of devotion and honesty strikes a moral chord with my fellow travelers. The heart of my tale lies in the value of the vows people share with one another. Rather than be critical of those who exhaust their words like the air they breathe I’ve decided upon a tale where the virtuous nature of people prevail. Of course we see a chain reaction of valor and truth flow from Arveragus who sees value in maintaining his wife’s promise to Aurelius who recognizes the importance of Arveragus and Dorigen’s wedding vows and finally to the sorcerer who calls off Aurelius’ grave debt. One question I would like to pose to my fellow travelers is whether or not they perceive Arveragus and Dorigen’s marriage to be on as equal-footing as to which they claim, “That nevere in al his lyf he, day ne nyght, ne sholde upon hym take no maistrie agayn hir wyl, ne kithe hire jelousie. But hire obeye, and folwe hir wyl in al” (Line 746-749, pg. 178 The Riverside Chaucer). While it certainly exceeds the middle-age standards of feminine rights it may also not be a truly equal relationship. Arveragus’ departure is motivated by his desire to assert himself as a knight in Britain and they agree that he will appear to have control over Dorigen in the public eye so as not to ruin his reputation. I have put forth two characters whom I feel to be pious and truthful but my fellow travelers –are they in fact true to their claim of being equal in their relationship?

2 thoughts on “Truth and Honor

  1. I think their marriage is a sham! What man in his right mind would allow his wife to be with another man? Is he not man enough to fight for her and her honor? I think he is a coward who wants to avoid confrontation. Such a man I care never to know.

  2. I agree, Averagus should have dueled with Aurelius over Dorigen. That has been his wife for years, and is his to keep. Unless of course Averagus chose to leave Dorigen himself. How is he supposed to trust her now that she flirts with young men while he’s overseas?

Leave a Reply

