Thoughts on The Knight’s Tale

Greetings Friends,

I am the Shipman, from Dartmouth. I enjoy fine wine and adventures out on the open sea. I also fancy a good fight. If any of you would care to test your mettle against this old sea captain, I would be more than happy to oblige. Fair warning though: I never lose. I look forward to this pilgrimage, although I must say I am not used to traveling by land because, as I have already stated, I am a sea captain.

Now, onto the tale we have just heard. The Knight told us a very long tale about love. Spending most of my time out on the sea, I haven’t much time for love, but I found the story interesting enough all the same. The Knight asked a particularly interesting question midway through his tale His question was in regards to had the worse of the two fates: Arcite, who was freed from prison but not allowed to see the love of his life anymore, or Palomon, who remained imprisoned but was allowed to gaze upon Emelye all he wanted. If there is an easier question to answer in all the land, I have yet to hear it. Obviously, Palomon had the worse of the two fates, as he was to remain imprisoned. Arcite, on the other hand, was free to roam and go on any adventures he pleased. Sure, he may miss Emelye, but a broken heart is nothing a little bit of stolen wine cannot fix! So Palomon had the worse of the two fates for sure.

Although I am sure that we all enjoyed the tale from the Knight, his tale shall not be the best. I am as good a storyteller as I am a fighter. And as you know, if there is one thing you should know about me, it’s this: I never lose.

 

 

One thought on “Thoughts on The Knight’s Tale

  1. Oh how I love to watch strong men fight! Shipman, I shall enjoy a fine glass of wine….and you can fight as I watch eh? As a matter of fact, I have a few relics that i can sell to you that could make you a conquerer just like Theseus! Oh the way your muscles will increase in size and you can “conquer” whomever you please….
    And you seemed to enjoy the aspects of the Knights tale that included Love….being away at sea the majority of your time must make a love life near impossible. How horrible that must be! I am sure some of my relics could help you find love, if not with your new conquerors physique you will have men and women groveling at your feet! All could be yours!

Leave a Reply

