Passage to America: New Immigrants tell their story

This was a very interesting reading! It opened my eyes to the struggles many people have of living in America and trying to fit in by becoming Americanized but ALSO keeping their own values, beliefs and customs from their home country. It must be a huge struggle. It sounds like it makes it hard to fit in at school. I never thought of all of those different issues! Immigrants are constantly being pushed back and forth..act American..but keep your heritage. You move to America for freedom and opportunity yet you aren’t completely free because you are constantly in a push pull of how to act, feel and what to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

2 thoughts on “Passage to America: New Immigrants tell their story

  1. I agree Ariel it really must be extremely hard. I was born and raised here in the United States and have a hard enough time fitting in. Many people do seem to dislike uniqueness or at least you get picked on for it. Which is one of the reasons I do not have many friends. I keep to my poetry in my room or go outdoors into the wildlife at least they do not judge.

  2. I believe that people in the United States are always judging others based on their nationalities or what they believe their "status" is in this country. I believe that you can assume something of someone because of things you know and facts you've learned(like the fact that foxes like to eat birds). However, not everything you hear about people is true. I always thought that foxes were somewhat witty and smart but as you read from my tale, they are not. Judging people doesn't help anyone and is just cruel. I'm sure an American would not like to be judged if they were in a different country and were immigrants.

Leave a Reply

