Mama’s Plant

I care for my plant like I care for my family. It’s my hope and my everythin’. My family, so capable of growin’ is held down by all the strives black folks face, and just like my plant cuz there’s no light in here. Just like there’s no light in this house for us either, no hope (which is why i bought that house). I think it’s like a metaphor or somethin’ like that. I would never let my plant die cuz I see it as a representation of my family’s welfare. If i give up on one thing that’s not getting what it deserves- then I give up on everythin’. I can’t wait to move to where there’s life, and light, so we can all grow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

4 thoughts on “Mama’s Plant

  1. I think that it is very important for you to care for your family as you do. Family is very important and you must teach them lessons as I have taught my own daughter. I did not have a plant such as yours but I understand the idea of something that represents something else and that you cherish it just the same and wish it to flourish just as though you wish your family would.

  2. The plant is a begining to an end for the family. The growth and beauty of the plant will blossom into somethin beautiful, we will begin to see while the family begins a fresh start again. The plant represents all the emotions and struggles the family had felt now that there biggest trouble has passed the plant will grow with there change.

  3. Tis' it is divine how thou loves that plantFor I love someone the same way but can'tHe is also my hope to a new startin lifeAnd I will fight for him for true love is hard to find

  4. I can relate to mama’s plant representing family, when you’re striving for the best of your family through the worst times, as did I when I was trying to protect my husband and daughter from the truth about the prophecies. Family had meant everything to me, as it did to mama and I would give anything to change the circumstances of mine.

Leave a Reply

