Walter Lee

Oh Walter, what a lost soul he was huh? I mean I thought he was gonna abandon his family and his baby on the way for money. He says “money is life.” Child, what has life come to if money is the only answer. Luckily I think the story of my family proves otherwise. After many mistakes, especially my Bennie loosing her school money, and Ruth thinkin’ bout gettin rid of that precious baby, Brother became a man and helped all us Youngers, not just himself. I think he finally learned money comes and goes but you can’t just rid yourself of love and family. And God of course. He has taught us that love and kindness is life, and He is always right. I was wondering if anyone thinks Walter should have not moved us in, and that the risk wasn’t worth takin’?

Well child, I think it was. I have a garden and Travis has his own room, until the baby comes that is. Them white folks be lookin at us like were criminals for wantin’ a nicer house. We smile at them anyways, hopin’ someday all this will change, if not for us then for Travis and the new baby. 
What do you all think of Brother’s decision? 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

5 thoughts on “Walter Lee

  1. Praise be to Walter Lee Younger, that honorable MoorHe found his true temper and showed old Mr.Linder the door.I the Miller hath been in many a town where I was not welcomeBut I dug in me heels, gave them back what I got and then some.So hear me Mama, Ruth, Travis and Bennie the bone-setterBack up the man who leads your clan and all will get better.

  2. I agree with you Mama. Money does come and go but family is forever. Sometimes you need to love someone especially your family even if you don't want to because they need your support especially at low times in their lives. I am pleased that Walter stuck up for himself and his family to Mr. Lindner. Sometimes you have to show people that you refuse to be walked all over.

  3. Walter Lee is sooo cool for standing up for his family. I love my Daddy dearly and would do anything for him. Mr. Lee you did the right thing. I hope my children are just like you when they become parents….ttyl

  4. It took a lot out of me to change my mind and put family before money. I still look back and wonder if i made the right decision. The money would have helped my sister with college and would have opened the gates to my future. Family is very importan but so is being financially stable.

Leave a Reply

