A raisin in the Sun act III

Beneatha, now you make sure you marry who you want to marry. Trust me, if you marry George just for the money you will regret it. Marry Asagi and become a doctor in Africa. Follow your dreams.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

5 thoughts on “A raisin in the Sun act III

  1. I think George is a nice boy, but Asagai makes my Bennie happy. She wants to be a doctor, so sometimes I need to tell her to get her head outta the clouds, ya know? Brother wants her to marry George for money, but don't listen to him. That's all he think 'bout. Child, my girl is goin somewhere let me tell you. I don't want my baby movin' away from me, but I think Asagai is a lovely man and can take care of her. I don't know much about Africa anyways, Bennie told me not to talk about "Tarzan." What a mouth of that child huh?

  2. Who are you to tell beneatha who she should marry? How can you conform that she will become a doctor if she goes to Africa to asagai? I tell you what she should do. She should follow her heart not her dreams. She will become a doctor if she wants to. What’s more important for her is to be with the one she loves the most, the one who know how to properly handle her business just like Jaunkin knew how to take care of my business. Whole new advice for you Beneatha follows your Heart instead of your dreams. Everyone who tells you otherwise are fouls and you’re a smart young lady. Do what your heart tells you to do sister. Then your mind, your soul and your body will thank you sister. It’s a wonderful feeling young lady. I am telling you. “Look at me, am counting my blessings”

  3. Wow you have two men in your life to pick from. I only have one and come to think about it he is the only choice I have. Not to many men my age on this island. I say go for the one that makes your heart smile…..ttyl

  4. I felt like that advice was truly meant for me. I'm stuck as well. It's like I live a double life. One man here and a younger man there. For I know by whose side I want to be. But the obstacles remain in my way. I have a "dark" life. Hence, I'm called "The Dark Lady".

Leave a Reply

