A Married States

I think that katherine Philips lost her mine before writting this poem ” A Married State”. I don’t know what to make of her for thinking that woman should remain virgin. was she trying to contradict the Lord for creating Adam and Eve. I mean what did she thought about women creation? Did she ever beleived that women were created to pleasure men. I beleive she was one of the craziest woman to beleive that women should not enjoy the real pleasure of life which is sex. I mean this is one of the biggest reason why God take special care to create Eve. God gave women permission to multiply the earth. How would women multiply the earth if they don’t get married,and give birth. I think her worries should have been about finding a man wh would want to do her such favor, because she was to old to be a virgin herself. she missed out a lot of good things in her life. by the way whoever listened to her and did what she said will be leading apes in hell. Because women were put on this earth for two reason. Get married so they don’t die virgin, and give birth. Any woman who did not do those two things and return to the Lord “Virgin” will… do what…”leading apes in hell.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

3 thoughts on “A Married States

  1. I agree with wife of bath. It is unreasonable to think that the world would be able to continue without women having babies. The part I liked the most about the post is when she mentions God took special care to create eve. Women were not created to remain virgins. Women were made so we can procreate, otherwise everyone would be the saem sex.

  2. Who is this God that you are talking about? Does he have a name? Does he have the same powers like my Daddy? I'm young and confused. I am the only lady on my island and I don't have any children. Am I suppose to have children? If so when and how do I have children? I'll ask this "God" or I just ask my Daddy. He will open his book and answer my questions?

Leave a Reply

