Because I could not stop for Death

Why would someone be comfortable with dieing? I understand its natural, but for me, i have to much to live for. My cruality could lead me to gods gates of heaven but its not comforting to agree with that. Death can’t be as great as you make it. A wifeless man has a bright future ahead of me. Therefore, i must stop for death. I

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

5 thoughts on “Because I could not stop for Death

  1. What if you what you were living for didn't have any significance for yourself? You are so busy living your life for others, taking care of others, bending over backwards for others that you have no time for yourself. Obligations of the highest moral order, obligations that you can not turn your back on and still be able to consider yourself to be morally you. Despite being wanting to be done with your life and your obligations to others, you can not stop for death. So death stops for you. With all his civility he puts down your tools and lets you take a peaceful rest, and great journey through all of eternity. Death under circumstances such as those would be a welcome respite. Something to consider.

  2. I think that this poem is signifigant because even when you don't have the time for things because you are so busy, death is always something that is inevitable. Death doesn't care if you're busy. When its your time to go, you go.

  3. We live for god and what he had sacrafised for us.Death is a natural cause of life, we all die and we all expierence someone close in our lives who have died. Whats done is done, with that said you should take everyday as it is your last, we cant measure our lives in minutes or hours we are unaware when it will happen and how it will happen.

  4. All this talk about Death makes me nervous. I have so much to live for. I have so much to explore and see. Ms. Dickinson is a very depressed lady. I wonder if she had any friends or someone who loved her?

  5. I feel like I could relate to Dickinson in this poem. I’d never thought about ending my life early, until I felt I had no options left and could not live with the guilt of marrying my son and having children with him as well. The prophecies were unfortunately true and I could not come to terms with hurting my family and my people like that. Although, it seems like Dickinson had no family at all, I couldn’t imagine having absolutely nobody to turn to.

Leave a Reply

