To: Junot Diaz, "Fiesta"

When I first read your story, all I can think about are feelings. Feelings based on, anger, sadness, guilt, and little of happiness. I truly understand the situation involving with this story of yours.
This story is pretty much going through the same problem I use to go through with my family. When I was young, my mother use to take over my life and pushed me to become as a school teacher. Life is just never fair. Fair enough to satisfy you. Too much guilt and anger. Where’s happiness when we needed one?Anyways, this story is very interesting. so much drama involving with families. There are some disappointments. For instance the mother. I thought women would know better involving with relationships… I guess not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

3 thoughts on “To: Junot Diaz, "Fiesta"

  1. This is a great response to the story; I like how you open up and relate the story to your life. It is great that you are open to share your feelings. You are right, life is just unfair sometimes, and you just have to get through it and survive somehow. It is hard to find happiness sometimes in your life, but you can’t get angry and disappointed.

  2. I do agree with the points you do makeThe unfairness of life, and its effectsI, a woman, loved for pity's sakeA life of solitude, for my intellectSo little and so much expected of me.A woman with so little to offerBut babies, and food, and man's fantasyIt's not right for "her" mind to prosper.I do have anger and sadness as wellMy family did not go as I had hopedMy temper does rise as much as it fellAnd I, as a woman, still cannot cope.

  3. D.H Lawrence it is very well that you take examples from your life and compare them to what Junot Diaz wrote about in "Fiesta." No one should feel trapped by another person, the only person who traps you in is yourself.Miss Diaz, being limited to resources, may find it diffcult but I encourage her to push through these difficulties and find your own way. Woman are much more than homemakers and good wives. They are also very intellectual and strong.

Leave a Reply

