into the sky

Once in a tree
The great Sycorax placed me.
Then freed
But is under by another by thee
Name Prospero
O how I served him and me heart felt cold
Thought i’s in a hole
Then, is once again set free.
Now I fly into the sky admiring beauty everywhere
This amazing new feeling I’ve never before feel,
I think I begin to heal.
Up here, I see the two nowhere,
With pressure no more,
My flight continues.
The breeze blows in me face
How everything is now lovely
And full of grace.
Shouting matches I hear no more,
but the mild wind’s song.
Agony I see no more,
But the wonderful blue and white from above
And the grassy green from below.
I’m into the sky relaxing clamly
I go where me soul desire
As I can go anywhere freely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

3 thoughts on “into the sky

  1. I am so happy for you, Ariel. It must be wonderful for you. Since you have gained your freedom, it seems you feel anything is possible. I see some of your optimism in the future in my character Louise, when she believes her husband to be dead, she is free to live the rest of her life as she pleases, almost overwhelmed by new possibilities. I am also reminded of the wonderful poem I've just read by Ms. Julia Alvarez. Her move to the United States became her freedom. She revels in her ability to express herself in a voice that is solely her own. I find both of your poems exhilarating and can not help but to feel inspired by both.

  2. This is a great poem Ariel it is very deep. I like how you talk about you struggle and trying to free yourself from others. It is good that you are free you can do whatever you want the world is in your hand. It is good that you are happy and admiring beauty everywhere and I am happy for you. I like how you see a better future for yourself ounce you got rid of Prospero and other things holding you down, keep on flying and be free it is the way to be.

  3. To feel freedom I know! It please meI write with my heart to achieve that dreamOf a beautiful day alone with theeAriel, you know what feels perfect, it seemsI wish I could fly, with you and your thoughtsI wish I could see the joy you feel nowI wish I could know the story you've croppedI'd give anything to understand how.I would like to feel the peace you now feelI would like to hide from the drama hereThe pomp and the circumstance of all the zealIts my own confinement that I fear

Leave a Reply

