I, Too, Sing America!

I really enjoyed Julia Alvarez’s poem I, Too, Sing America. Made me think ’bout my own struggles with identity growin’ up in America. For land that’s ‘sposed to be free and equal we sure don’t all have the same comin’ to us. Makes me think of that horrible man Lindner, who was tryin’ to buy me out of my house. I is an American, my Walter worked himself to death for us to get our dream house. I’m proud to be who I am. All I got is how far my family’s come in America. I ain’t all concerned with my roots like my daughter Beneatha is. Times are changin’ tho’. Seems like us colored folks, even woman have more of a voice. I like that Julia Alvarez uses poetry as that voice. She’s real great at bringin’ together American culture with her own. Readin’ her poetry would do some good in helpin’ Americans be more acceptin’ of different cultures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

2 thoughts on “I, Too, Sing America!

  1. I tooI really enjoyed Julia Alvarez's poem I, Too, Sing America. I agree with you that it made me think of my own struggles identity growin' up in America. My father was a Baptist preacher, tenant farmer, and carpenter. He worked hard for the american dream too. when I was Three my family moved to Eatonville, Fla., it was the first incorporated black community in America, my father become mayor.Eatonville was a place were black Americans could live independent of the prejudices of white society.

  2. You are right not everyone is equal in the same way some people have more advantages then others and it’s not fair. It is good that you kept your house and didn’t give it up to Linder. It is not fair for someone to take away your house which your Walter worked so hard in keeping. It is great that you are proud of yourself and you should be for standing up for yourself and family.

Leave a Reply

