American Dream….What is it?

You always grow up thinkin certain ideas that make up the American Dream. Well for some they want that nice house, they wanna put a smile on they famlies faces, they wanna teach they family the right way to live. I use to think my Amiercan Dream was to own that liquor store…. mama just didnt get what a great a’vantage that woulda been to the family…. no she jus didn’t see it. Yeh I wanna nice house for my family and thats what mama went right on ahead and did… and i’m glad she did it. Now my family can grow and be happy, specially wit the new baby on the way. Now I can teach my son what it really means to be a man and I can put a smile on my wife’s face. Maybe willy taken that money was the best thing that happened to us…. it brought my family closa. I guess you could say now my family bein happy is my American Dream.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

4 thoughts on “American Dream….What is it?

  1. good that mama step in and decide what was best for the family because Walter as a man had no idea of what really is the American dream until mama teach him….for everyone American dream is different ut at one point all dreams come together by seen the family being together and happy.

  2. Thats my boy Walter, It makes mama so proud to hear you say that. I know I did right by you. You are the man of the house. I thought I didn't know you for a second there, but I knew you'd get it straight. You gonna give the best life for that new baby and for Travis and Ruth. I knew you were proud of your family, and proud of big Walter. I sure knew I did right by you.

  3. I always say "If you want that good feeling that comes from doing things for other folks then you have to pay for it in abuse and misunderstanding." meaning some times people don't alway apperacate the things you do for them but one needs to understand they are still helping

  4. Making yourself happy also can be center for your Ameican Dream. If you are happy with yourself you can make the people around you happy. If your dream is the liquor store, you should not give up. Placing on the back burner for a little while is fine, but never fully disregard it. Providing for your family is something that is very important to you, just like any man or woman. Family comes first to those of us who have strong ties. Never let anyone tell you you can not do something. To achieve the "American Dream" is to realize what you want and how you plan to accomplish it. You create your own destiny.

Leave a Reply

