What we have

Mr. Hughes, I do feel we can relate.
Each poets of our own renaissance time,
I fervently do wish we could debate
The meaning of you, and yours, us and mine.
We’re both alone, yet part of something more
We write of love, though for different views.
How I wish I could find you, just past my door
How I wish you were here to give me clues
Teach me, please, of Simple’s dark Chicago
Show me, please, the difference in our homes
Or do not, for between us, I am long ago
To the world, you and I will be here, but gone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

2 thoughts on “What we have

  1. Lady Mary, thee delightful poem fills me heart! O how ever so charming, simply marvelous! Yet, so sad…"you and I will be here, but gone…" Why gone? Gone to where? O I wish thee indeed do find thee true love and together be forever. I wish I another to relate to…Ariel, an airy sprite, has by far finds not another airy sprite. Everywhere I see beings I not look like…I cannot truly relate to anyone…

  2. This poem is great. I woulda never thought 'bout relating the renaissances of my time with the past. I never thought I'd have got somethin' in common with Lady Mary Wroth. We both admire Mr Langston Hughes. His writin' like yours is a great example of innovation durin' a point in history. Lady Mary, you are like my girl Beneatha, an independent woman who takes risks. Hughes took them risks too in order to enlighten people. His work reminded my family 'bout keeping strength and hope in our dreams when we had none.

Leave a Reply

