Call me daring, but call me Hawthorne.

Is it much to early for me to publish such bold statements of my thoughts to the public eyes of Salem Village, and even beyond? Can the citizens of our community handle such thought, such enlightenment, during this era? What lies for me in my future I do not yet know, for the “good” puritans of our community may strongly disagree with my insightful findings. Other people of this village obviously are too ignorant to have any interest or understanding outside the walls of this stringent Puritan society. However, the issue at hand is too late to assist, for my work has already been published for other witnesses to ponder.

This is for the own good of our society. One needs to rise above the crowd, and illuminate the thoughts of others, otherwise our community will forever lay at the feet of Puritanism, even if it is the foot of Puritanism that is kicking the narrow-minded dirt into the eyes of it’s followers, causing them to become blind to any other subject of thought. Who am I to set an example for the rest? Well, I am Nathaniel Hawthorne, one who is educated, and one with the ability to vision what is being blocked by the thick walls of Puritanism to it’s followers. It was my own great-grandfather, Colonel John Hathorne with his narrow beliefs, that made the Salem Witch Hysteria what it was. This is not something that I am proud of, however the past was here and created the history for the rest of us to learn from. Why do I feel as if I am the only one enlightened? Maybe now others will follow along my revealed trail of curiosity and questioning, while the authorities may stay at the same pace they are going, headed in the same direction they will never fall away from. As for me, on the other hand, I think there is something more to learn from life. This is something that only the ones with true potential and questioning may be able to capture.
So what if I may question the “true” faith of many Puritans, including it’s leaders? It only takes one idea to begin a new journey into something that was otherwise never thought possible. That is why I do not carry on my biological “Hathorne” last name, which is made up of evil morale and ashamed memoir. For the love of something worth believing, call me daring, but call me Hawthorne.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

One thought on “Call me daring, but call me Hawthorne.

  1. Dear sir I think you might yet be correct,In assuming your education's bright,Narrow-minded beliefs that do infectThe people of Salem from seeing right.Your enlightenment is so obvious,With points that will back up your argumentBut maybe your thoughts show perilous-nessHere are some notes on which you may ferment.You put yourself on your pedestal, high.What makes you think you are so much better?I favor books over religious sighs,Yet, sir, what dark pains can your books weather?

Leave a Reply

