Going To Heaven

GOING to heaven! I don’t know when,
Pray do not ask me how,—
Indeed, I ’m too astonished
To think of answering you!
Going to heaven!—
How dim it sounds!
And yet it will be done
As sure as flocks go home at night
Unto the shepherd’s arm!

Perhaps you ’re going too!
Who knows?
If you should get there first,
Save just a little place for me
Close to the two I lost!
The smallest “robe” will fit me,
And just a bit of “crown”;
For you know we do not mind our dress
When we are going home.

I ’m glad I don’t believe it,
For it would stop my breath,
And I ’d like to look a little more
At such a curious earth!
I am glad they did believe it
Whom I have never found
Since the mighty autumn afternoon
I left them in the ground.

Do you agree with my journey to Heaven?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

3 thoughts on “Going To Heaven

  1. Emily, your poem is interesting. You are a tough lady Ariel must say. However, your question Ariel cannot answer. You see, I am a sprite or you say spirit or an angel already. "Going to heaven" is not needed for me, for I can and already been to heaven within a snap. The so-call "journey" is rather quick. "Going to heaven-how dim it sounds!" The heaven o how luminous it is! The idea is not dim at all.O, but wait, did thee say "If you should get there first, save just a little place for.." thee? Why since I have the power, I can grant thee thee wish!

  2. Dear Emily, I understand your thoughts about the heavens, and I applaud such a woman to step out and say her peace. However, ask any Puritan, for if they do not strike you for not knowing, they will inform you about the divine Grace that is only given to those who stand worthy of salvation, and every man and woman are already predestined. However…since you have bravely stood out and spoke your peace, I now understand that we both have one thing in common, and I feel safe enough to let out my feelings as well. Is there a heaven for everyone? Well, just maybe. There is only one way to find out, and one day we will all find out the truth. If I arrive there sooner, there will be a space saved for such a daring woman as thee, along with your loving parents as well.

  3. I am quite fond of your poem about heaven….From a poet to another poet I just wanted to say I really enjoyed reading your poem…. I like hearing from your perspective and listening what your view point is on heaven…Though I don’t agree with your meaning of heaven I still respect your say….I have to agree with Hawthorne as he says heaven is only for those who stand worthy of salvation….I believe that people who should go to heaven should deserve to because of their actions and what good they have done in the world. ..But we will one day find out if God has a plan for everyone in heaven. ..

Leave a Reply

