On the eve of a hallowed day

Till the sun does not shine and the wind does not blow I must pray fervently for the sake of my soul…. On this eve of all saint’s day I see a disturbing fetish arising amongst the young people of the nearest village. It seems the desire to dress and frolick about in costumes and disguise has become the rage amongst the youth of this village. Certainly I have warned against the following of such ancient witchery yet I see so many people openly in worship of such things. Their costumes disturb me and they do not know the peril they are in. Upon stopping in their company I was dismayed to see such arrogance and display of foolery. Where is there reverence and respect?

Perhaps the devil himself has rooted in these parts. It is certain the look in the eyes of those about here would suggest as much. Pray Jesus in Heaven that this heathen activity will not drag the entire town into it’s grasps!
Though I think I speak most urgently I do not know upon whose heart my words fall. My lady is lost in the seeking of wordly gains and spends little time in prayer as I beg of her. Perhaps the tale I most brilliantly told is lost to her feeble understanding. Ay, tis apparent her doom is assured.
Pride, the deadliest of deadly sins is so very rampant. My soul is saddened by these local uncivilized inhabitants. I will pray with my greatest strength and seek the mercy of our Lord above that I, too, will not succumb to the great vanity of these develish days….
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

Leave a Reply

