shame…

O…what have people come to? I am addressing to the three men who dare to extinguish my great master, Prospero and the two who had enough to drink! O, i’ve such a great sense of humor mimicking Trinculo this morning: “Thou liest, most ignorant monster, I am in case to jostle a constable.” Heha. “Ignorant monster” make fun of me will he? It was ever so funny when Stephano and Trinculo fought. I seen their faces.
Anyway, the three are truly men of sin! Alonso, Sebastian, and Antonio, you fools! You three dared to draw out your swords at the greatest spirit Ariel? Not on my watch! No one should ever ruin Prospero! I’ve said this before and I’ll say it once more, “the elements of whom your swords are tempered may as well wound the loud winds,…as diminish one dowl that’s in my plume… The powers,…incensed the seas and shores, yea, all the creatures, against your peace…Upon your heads-is nothing but heart’s sorrow and a clear life ensuing.”
O, Prospero, my master, I will serve you until i get my reward!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

2 thoughts on “shame…

  1. Oh God in Heaven, such blasphemy I hear from the good folks about these parts. Am I now reading the very writings of a demonic spirit? Perhaps the good lady of whom I keep watch is dabbling in the dark and dangerous business of the underworld and has brought this non human thing into life. I am afeared it is she that is responsible for this ungodly horror. This is dire a day when that which looks to be a lady conjurs up such danger amongst us… Tis' truly sad to know her soul will be taken by Satan himself if she does not confess to being guilty in this evildoing. My guidance has had little apparent effect on her. I must be hasty and seek indulgence for her very soul is at now at stake…Look how she feigns frailty and innocence and does not look to be a witch. A man of reason; I know it must be she that is responsible for the loosing of this demon… Good Lord in heaven I pray we have strength to overcome the cunning and evil this women has loosed in the shape of this sprite…

  2. Ariel, WAKE UP!!! You are not a "great spirit," you are a slave! Women like me have been enslaved to their husbands for centuries, so I understand where you are coming from, but it doesn't have to be this way! I am no slave to my husband anymore because I made him feel so guilty when he made me deaf, that he realized what he did was wrong and turned over the control all to me. Well, that, and I emasculated him by hitting him back. You need to get out of this "O, my master" mentality and stand up for yourself. You are better and more powerful than Prospero, and he is holding you back from your true potential. Find strength in yourself, Ariel, and you can go on to be your own master AND the master of that weaselly Prospero!

Leave a Reply

