My company is a mix of heathens and fools.

Certainly God is pleased to see such adoration in our midst. Perhaps we will see his countenance on our mission and the road will rise to meet us. Whilst the common folk may look with wonder on such a lot as us; the good Lord in heaven must see our intentions in this travel or certainly he would not have made such a way for us. The path has been fair and lacking trouble and the strangers have been reasonable and quite tolerable. Bless us all for the kindness of the season… My dreams foretold of such a ride but me thinks the way has fared better than imagined. Bless me, Lord, for the patience I now show in the likes of such cunning behavior as we have heard.

While pondering my duties and the array of items now at my attention; it occurs to me that there are more women about than men to keep them. Like children it is well known that they must be kept to a standard or they will run wild and rampant (as we see from our friend from Bath).
Who decided on such an arrangement as we now see? I believe the very assemblage of such a group goes against any law or order about such a matter. Perhaps we are simply the latest style; spent on setting the standard so as to entice the vagabond in need of spiritual nourishment. Perhaps the lot of us shall fair well as God is merciful. I do not, however, plan to stay the course if the wickedness of such tales continues. Have mercy on us all!
The path is clear but the course is muddy due to the intervention and cunning of so many devious womenfolk. Perhaps in due course they will find their place and return a sense of order to this group of prideful souls. I can only pray for such wisdom to befall the men of my company.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

One thought on “My company is a mix of heathens and fools.

  1. It is in my best interest that I address this and how you speak of women. Women shall be kept as children? Meaning that we (women) are immature and mindless. I have papers and papers full of poems that have not been produced because of my gender and at the time was too time ashamed to send them forth. The women you talk about seem to be road blocks for your men on your journey, however I beg to differ. Without women most of the essentials you are lagging with you would not be in existence had it not been for the woman who prepared them. We know our place in society and do not need for you tell us. I am exhasperated by this fruitful attempt to belittle woman. Lord knows how important we are and how important this trip is and if men and women can come together for this little time we will stay strong. Lord bless us with that kind of courage.

Leave a Reply

