Ghostly Sights

It was after my first child, I felt the Devil’s pain.
I knew a life of commitment to my Lord was the only way.
First I had to convince my husband to live a life of ceibacy.
It was not until I birthed my 14th child, I had devoted my entire life.

On my pilgrimage to Jerusalem, I saw the ghosts of Lady St. John and Mary Magdalene,
And I wept in sorrow.
Anytime I see the Crucifix or someone being beat,
I envision my Lord being beat in the same manner and weep.

And every Palm Sunday and Good Friday,
I see these ghostly sights.
I feel my Lord’s pain and suffer.
But he is worth the pain and suffering.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

3 thoughts on “Ghostly Sights

  1. My Margery, you have a lot to sayAbout the glory of faith that surround.Did thee realize in this piety you lay,the seeds and source of your husband’s frown.Woe he will feel, in your celibacyBonds that break the true ties of affection.I warn-fore the bleak clasp of jealousythat will plague with a foul insurrection.Betwixt this hellish realm of cat and mouse Your husband will feel, this was quite the heist.“For what kind women would dismiss their spouseOf earthly essence, for the love of Christ?”

  2. Margery what conviction you have. Comparable to that I give to my writing. You seems to know much about what you see around you. Close to the Holy Lord and the Devil at once you seem to be. I hope you are certain of the accusations you make, forcing your husband so far away and giving up one love for another.

Leave a Reply

