Listen up I tell you,
And give me your full attention too.
And speak up if you must do,
Since only one ear will be open to you.

The wife of Arthur, the most beautiful one
Admired by women, father, and son.
She’s said to have a shapely figure,
I bet that I’m better then her.
I have flaws that make me lusty,
As opposed to just being busty.

She is willing to be unfaithful,
Such a sinner of sorts is distasteful.
As Eve was with Adam,
That’s not right, madame.

Although I know how she feels,
Having men bowing at my heels.
She’s said to be the most admired,
It’s from me, she was inspired

I wonder if what she says is true,
About the boys Lanval pursued.
I wouldn’t be all that surprised,
Not wanting what is fantasized.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Alex Mueller. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alex Mueller

Alex Mueller can be found running and cycling the streets and suburbs of Boston, taking long sojourns in rare book archives whenever he can. He teaches English at UMass Boston, serves as Book Review Editor for Arthuriana, and writes about digital pedagogy, open access publishing, and medieval literature.

3 thoughts on “

  1. Now listen, one and all! But first, I make a protestation that I am drunk; I know it by my voice. And therefore if I speak as I should not, blame it on the ale of Southwark, I pray you; Arthur may be a cuckold who has a lame wife. But busty or lusty I do not care, I have know both for a fare. For every a good wive there are a thousand who have gone to bad. Though whether I am cuckold i could not care. Its best not to know than to care. If it was from you that she was inspired then its from me you should desire.

  2. To the Wife of bath I urge you to put your better self forth and ignore you busty and lusty side. Present yourself as a lady and give the wife of Arthur hers to be forever more. We must not mess with fate or fantasize of what will never be true.

  3. My lady, may i beseech you?For, if what you claim be of truth,I ask you earnestly, demonstratehow doth a better catch you make,then Arthur’s prize so fine and hotover-there yonder, in Camelot.An ill-will to juxtapose,For her husband, he shall oppose,any nod or mention of doubt,that Guinevere, be fairest out.With this act you bring folly,you no right to melancholy.Arthur, will surely lay his wrathto you, thy fickle wife of bath

Leave a Reply

